Do I still need a medical marijuana recommendation in California since its become legal?
Even though California passed Proposition 64 in November of 2016, the answer is a resounding yes! It’s likely that you won’t be able to go into an actual dispensary and buy legal recreational marijuana until sometime in 2018, or even 2019. That’s because it takes a lot of legislative effort to convert to a recreational system with different rules and still keep the medical marijuana industry running.
If you already have a medical marijuana card, make sure you renew it! A cardholder will be entitled to tax exemptions that potentially translate into a cost saving of 42.5% with every spend, depending on the individual counties! That's a lot of green! Exactly how much? Let's do some quick math:
Let's say your average weekly purchase of bud is about an eighth/week. Let's also say that you average about $50 per eighth. If you live in an area where a recreational purchase is subject to 40% tax, you'll be paying an additional $20 every week when you go in to buy your weed. Keep in mind there are 52 weeks in a year, so you're looking at possibly spending over $1,000 EXTRA dollars to cover the imposed tax burden. But if you have a medical marijuana card, your magic price is tax-exempt, resulting in significant savings!
A weed rec also allows one to purchase larger amounts of medical marijuana and sometimes higher potency marijuana products. So hold onto that medical marijuana certificate, or go ahead and spend $19.99 to be evaluated by our docs at WeedRecs.com!
What's the minimum age to get weed for recreational use and medical use?
Our doctors evaluate all eligible adults that are 18 years and older. Keep in mind that only California residents aged 21 and ver will be allowed to participate in the recreational use and purchase of marijuana. For qualifying adults aged 18-21 years, you will ONLY be able to obtain medical marijuana through the recommendation of a California-licensed MD. If you are eligible, WeedRecs.com will evaluate and treat you with the full protection of doctor-patient confidentiality, which prevents law enforcement or DMV from accessing your medical records without obtaining your written permission.
If I have a recommendation from a doctor, why do I need the plastic medical marijuana wallet-card?
You don't need one! Many "marijuana clinics" will try to sell you a plastic card for $20-$30 and say you can use it instead of having to carry your recommendation certificate with you. Other clinics will try to say its the legal "marijuana card". This is untrue and false!
The only legitimate source is the California Department of Public Health in order to obtain the actual "marijuana card". Once you have a recommendation, you can enroll in the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP), which offers the added benefit of having tax-exempt purchases when buying medical cannabis (Prop 64). The card is also used to help law enforcement identify the cardholder as being able to legally possess certain amounts of medical marijuana under specific conditions.
Can I own or buy a gun if I use marijuana?
The federal Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms sent letters to gun dealers in 2011 warning them they could not sell to known marijuana users. When buying a gun, question 11E on the ATF form asks, "Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana?"
Answering yes makes you ineligible to purchase; falsely answering no is in principle punishable as perjury. This should not affect current gun owners.
Will I be placed on a government list if I get a weed rec?
No way! Your information is confidential to you and your doctor. Your medical information is maintained in a secure system that is HIPAA compliant (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act). We respect your privacy and your medical information is never shared...not with your insurance company, employer or any other entity. Rest assured, your privacy is guarded and secure.